The Caribbean Islands

The Caribbean Islands is a massive archipelago located in the Caribbean Sea, that can be subdivided into a few different regions: the Lucayan Archipelago, the Greater Antilles, the Lesser Antilles and the ABC Islands. There are 13 sovereign states and 17 dependent territories in the Caribbean, and English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Antillean creole are the predominant languages. The Caribbean sprawls across more than 1.06 million square miles and is primarily located between North America and South America.

Greater Antilles
the most-visited region in the Caribbean
Cayman Islands > Caribbean > CAYMAN ISLANDS
British Overseas Territory
Cuba > Caribbean >> CUBA
Havana, capital city of Cuba
Dominican Republic > Caribbean > DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Santo Domingo, capital city of DR
Haiti > Caribbean > HAITI
Port-au-Prince, capital city of Haiti
Jamaica > Caribbean > JAMAICA
Kingston, capital city of Jamaica
Puerto Rico > Caribbean > PUERTO RICO
San Juan, capital city of Puerto Rico
The Lesser Antilles
form the border between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic

The majority of the islands in the Lesser Antilles form the border between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic. They are located in the northern part of the West Indies. The islands here are further divided into the three regions: the Leeward Islands,the Windward Islands, the ABC Islands

Leeward Islands
the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles chain
Anguilla, Caribbean Islands
The Valley, capital city of Anguilla
Antigua & Barbuda
Island in Antigua and Barbuda
British Virgin Islands > Caribbean > BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS
British Overseas Territory
Guadeloupe > Caribbean > GUADELOUPE
Basse-Terre, capital city of Guadeloupe
Montserrat > Caribbean > MONTSERRAT
British Overseas Territory
Saba > Caribbean > SABA
The Bottom
Saint Barthelemy > Caribbean > SAINT BARTHELEMY
Overseas collectivity of France
Saint Martin > Caribbean > SAINT MARTIN
French side, north of island
Sint Maarten > Caribbean > SINT MAARTEN
southern Dutch side of Saint Martin island
Sint Eustatius > Caribbean > SINT EUSTATIUS
Municipality in the Dutch Caribbean
Saint Kitts & Nevis > Caribbean > SAINT KITTS & NEVIS
Basseterre, capital city of St. Kitts & Nevis
Windward Islands
South Caribbean
Barbados > Caribbean Islands >> BARBADOS
Bridgetown, capital city of Barbados
Dominica > Caribbean > DOMINICA
Roseau, capital city of Dominica
Grenada > Caribbean > GRENADA
St. George's, capital city of Grenada
Martinique > Caribbean > MARTINIQUE
Fort-de-France, capital city of Martinique
Saint Lucia > Caribbean > SAINT LUCIA
Castries, capital ciy of St. Lucia
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines > Caribbean > SAINT VICENT & THE GRENADINES
Kingstown, capital city of St. V&G
Trinidad & Tobago > Caribbean > TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Port of Spain, capital city of Trinidad & Tobago
ABC Islands
the three western-most islands of the Leeward Antilles in the Caribbean Sea
Aruba > Caribbean Islands >> ARUBA
Oranjestad, capital city of Aruba
Bonaire > Caribbean > BONAIRE
Kralendijk, capital city of Bonaire
Curaçao > Caribbean >> CURAÇAO
Willemstad, capital city of Curaçao
Its proximity to the U.S. makes it a very popular vacation destination
Bahamas > Caribbean Islands >> BAHAMAS
Nassau, capital city of Bahamas
Turks & Caicos > Caribbean > TURKS & CAICOS
British Overseas Territory

The Caribbean islands is the place to go when you need a break from the fast, hectic pace of everyday life. It is one of the most prestigious tourist destinations in the world.

Read more about The Caribbean