Les Bahamas

Îles Bahamas, Caraïbes
Îles Bahamas, Caraïbes

Les Bahamas sont situées au nord des Grandes Antilles et au sud-est de la Floride, techniquement, l'emplacement des Bahamas se trouve dans l'océan Atlantique Nord et pas dans les Caraïbes, mais parfois les Bahamas sont considérées comme des îles des Caraïbes. Un pourcentage important de ces îles sont techniquement des cays, ou des îles de corail, et la plupart sont inhabités. Le nom "Bahamas" vient de l'espagnol, et il se traduit grossièrement par "eau peu profonde". Plus de 300 000 personnes vivent ici, ce qui en fait un pays relativement peuplé. Depuis son indépendance par rapport au Royaume-Uni en 1973, les Bahamas ont prospéré. Le tourisme, en particulier, est le principal moteur de l'économie ici, de sorte que les locaux ont tendance à répondre aux visiteurs et sont très accueillants.

Regardez cette vidéo sur les Bahamas

Vidéo sur Bahama, les îles merveilleuses et diverses qui forment l'un des archipels les plus enchanteurs du monde et le large éventail de culture et d'activités proposées. Cette vidéo est commentée par différentes personnalités et professionnels liés à l'activité touristique et au mode de vie des Bahamas

Quels sont les Bahamas?

Les Bahamas sont constitués de plus de 700 îles. On croit que Christophe Colomb est arrivé sur l'île de San Salvador aux Bahamas en 1492. À l'époque, il était peuplé d'Indiens Arawak. Les Britanniques sont arrivés pour la première fois en 1647, et les Bahamas sont officiellement devenues une colonie en 1783. En raison de sa longue histoire avec la Grande-Bretagne, les Bahamas continuent d'être fortement anglicisées. L'anglais est la langue officielle et le christianisme est pratiqué par presque tous ceux qui y vivent. En effet, le pays est très religieux et possède le plus grand nombre d'églises dans les Caraïbes.

Bien que les Bahamas se composent de milliers d'îles, seule une poignée reçoit une réelle attention des touristes. L'île de New Providence abrite Nassau, la capitale. C'est également là que vous trouverez la célèbre station Atlantis. Grand Bahama est surtout connu pour ses incroyables systèmes de grottes sous-marines. De nombreuses lignes de croisière possèdent et exploitent également des îles privées. La plupart des îles des Bahamas sont de longues formations de récifs coralliens plats. Des tapisseries de petites collines arrondies apparaissent ici et là dans certaines régions. Le point le plus élevé, Mt. Alvernia, est de 63 mètres de haut.

Si vous souhaitez visiter les Bahamas, le meilleur moment est généralement entre fin décembre et début mai. Vous pouvez remplir vos journées à faire le tour des îles, à grignoter des conques fendues, à faire tremper du rhum local et à vous éclabousser dans les eaux du 80e degré qui s'étendent toute l'année. Vous pouvez également consulter les galeries d'art, les casinos, les forts, les musées, les monuments et bien plus encore. La monnaie officielle est le dollar des Bahamas, mais la monnaie américaine est largement acceptée aussi.

  • Capitale - Nassau
  • Langue - Anglais

Nassau, capitale des Bahamas

Nassau, capital city of Bahamas

Nassau est une véritable fête pour les sens. L'air est épais avec l'arôme doux de la flore tropicale, on peut entendre les gens sur les bijoux, les gâteaux au rhum et les pièces de monnaie dans les magasins duty-free de Bay Street et les bâtiments de style géorgien cotonnier de couleur sucrée qui brillent presque dans le quartier historique. La capitale des Bahamas a une vibration énergétique qui guérit tout cas de fièvre de cabine et ravira les visiteurs les plus fréquentés.

Il y a quelques musées remarquables dans la ville, et le plus intéressant est probablement le Musée des Pirates de Nassau. La collection de classe mondiale comprend des écrans interactifs complets avec des loisirs de la vie des pirates, des découpes de navires et des promenades qui font que les visiteurs se sentent comme des swashbucklers authentiques. Il y a aussi un superbe magasin de cadeaux au pillage et un bar Pirate amical qui sert des grands verres de bière fraîche.

Une collection modeste de documents et d'artefacts est exposée au musée historique de la société des Bahamas. La collection raconte l'histoire des îles de l'ère Lucayan à travers aujourd'hui, et le prix d'entrée en vaut la peine de voir le modèle incroyable du Santa Luceno, un galion espagnol.

pier landscape in Nassau, Bahamas

Nassau est une ville animée remplie d'énergie vibrante, mais il y a beaucoup d'endroits à faire pour sortir du chaos. Au-dessus de la perche de roche sur Bernard Road se trouve le monastère de saint Augustin, l'un des endroits les plus imposants mais pacifiques des îles. Appelez en avant pour planifier une visite du monastère ouvrier.

Les jardins d'Ardastra, le Zoo et le parc de conservation offrent également une belle évasion de l'action parfois écrasante de la ville. Plus de 50 espèces d'animaux, les reptiles et les oiseaux appellent le zoo à la maison, et les espèces de flore indigènes prospèrent dans les jardins. Les visiteurs peuvent voir de nombreux animaux de près, y compris les flamands de l'Inde occidentale, les singes, les iguanes, les perroquets de Bahama en voie de disparition, les serpents, les hutias et les caïmans.

Atlantis Nassau

Les enfants et les adultes profiteront tous deux de l'Atlantis Waterscape, le plus grand aquarium en plein air au monde. Plus de 200 espèces de la vie marine peuvent être resserrées, dont 14 000 poissons. La promenade en plexiglas sous-marine permet aux visiteurs de voir les créatures comme jamais auparavant, et le parc comprend également une interprétation des ruines de l'Atlantide, un lagon plein de requins et une rivière paresseuse pour les tubes.

Government House in Nassau

L'un des plus beaux bâtiments de Nassau est la Maison du gouvernement, une structure géorgienne animée qui remonte au mont Fitzwilliam et abrite le gouverneur général du pays. La marche sur le terrain est permise, mais les visiteurs doivent organiser des visites intérieures à l'avance et un gardien militaire est un accompagnateur requis. Deux fois par mois, les visiteurs sont invités à regarder le changement de garde et à s'asseoir pour le thé avec la femme du gouverneur général.

Blackbeard's Tower est une autre attraction touristique populaire dans la ville. La tour de pierre coupée se trouve juste au sud de Fort Montagu et offre une vue exceptionnelle sur Nassau.

white sandy beach with cristal waters in Nassau

D'autres sites à explorer à Nassau comprennent l'animée place Rawson, les jardins charmants du Bahamas National Trust, la plage de sable blanc de sable blanc, la maison de balcon du XVIIIe siècle et le cimetière oriental, où les pirates et autres coquins sont enterrés au-dessus du sol Tombes.

Nassau, capital city of Bahamas

Vidéo de présentation des Bahamas

Lieu de Nassau

Nassau est la plus grande ville, centre commercial et commercial des Bahamas. Selon le recensement de 2010, Nassau abritait près de 250 000 habitants, soit 70% de la population totale des Bahamas.

La ville de Nassau a d'abord été formellement connue sous le nom de Charles Town avant d'être brûlée au sol en 1684 par les Espagnols et a été reconstruite 9 ans plus tard pour s'appeler Nassau.

Nassau Language

L'anglais est la langue officielle utilisée à Nassau, Bahamas.

Nassau Predominant Religion

La religion prédominante aux Bahamas est le christianisme, et d'autres religions sont acceptées.

Monnaie de Nassau

Le dollar des Bahamas est la monnaie officielle de Nassau, Bahamas et est basé sur le dollar américain et est équivalent à.

Climat de Nassau

Le climat à Nassau est connu sous le nom de mousson tropicale avec des températures assez constantes tout au long de l'année, quelle que soit la saison. Dépassant les températures de 92 degrés Fahrenheit (33 degrés Celsius) pendant l'été, Nassau ne dépasse jamais moins de 50 degrés Fahrenheit (10 ° C) pendant l'hiver avec une température quotidienne moyenne entre 68 et 80 degrés F (20 et 27 C).

Attractions principales de Nassau

  • Rawson Square
  • Escalier de la Reine
  • La Tour de l'Eau
  • Gregory Arch et The Caves

Autres attractions à Nassau

  • Des plages
  • The Lost Blue Hole - site du trou

Aéroport le plus proche à Nassau, Bahamas

L'aéroport le plus proche se trouve dans la ville et est l'aéroport international Lynden Pindling.
Les codes de l'aéroport sont (NAS / MYNN).
L'aéroport est situé à seulement 9,9 miles du centre-ville de Nassau et propose des vols quotidiens vers les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, les Caraïbes et le Canada.

Nassau calm life

Les Bahamas se compose de plus de 700 îles, Cayes et îlots
Les principales îles sont :
Îles des Caraïbes près des Bahamas

The Bahamas

Bahamas islands, Caribbean
Bahamas islands, Caribbean

The Bahamas are located north of the Greater Antilles and southeast of Florida, technically the location of the Bahamas is in the North Atlantic Ocean, and not in the Caribbean, yet sometimes the Bahamas are encompassed as being islands of the Caribbean. A significant percentage of those islands are technically cays, or coral reef islands, and most are uninhabited. The name “Bahamas” comes from Spanish, and it roughly translates to mean “shallow water.” More than 300,000 people live here, making it a relatively populous country. Since winning its independence from the U.K. in 1973, the Bahamas have flourished. Tourism, in particular, is the main thing driving the economy here, so locals tend to cater to visitors and are very welcoming.

The Bahamas are made up of more than 700 islands. It is believed that Christopher Columbus arrived on the Bahamian island of San Salvador in 1492. At the time, it was populated by Arawak Indians. The British first arrived in 1647, and the Bahamas officially became a colony in 1783. Due to its long history with Great Britain, the Bahamas continues to be highly anglicized. English is the official language, and Christianity is practiced by nearly everyone who lives there. Indeed, the country is very religious and boasts the highest ratio of churches in the Caribbean.

Though the Bahamas consist of thousands of islands, only a handful get any real attention from tourists. New Providence Island is home to Nassau, the capital. It’s also where you’ll find the world-famous Atlantis resort. Grand Bahama is best known for its amazing underwater cave systems. Many cruise lines own and operate private resort islands as well. Most of the islands in the Bahamas are long, flat coral reef formations. Smatterings of small, rounded hills appear here and there in some areas. The highest point, Mt. Alvernia, is 63 meters high.

If you’d like to visit the Bahamas, the best time is generally between late December and early May. You can fill your days boating around the islands, noshing on cracked conch, swilling local rum and splashing about in the year-round 80-degree waters. You can also check out art galleries, casinos, forts, museums, monuments and much more. The official currency is the Bahamian dollar, but American currency is widely accepted too.

  • Capital city - Nassau
  • Language - English

Nassau, capital city of Bahamas

Nassau, capital city of Bahamas

Nassau is a true feast for the senses. The air is thick with the sweet aroma of tropical flora, locals can be heard bargaining over jewelry, rum cakes and coins at the duty-free shops of Bay Street and cotton candy-colored Georgian-style buildings nearly glow in the historic district. The capital of the Bahamas has a high-energy vibe that will cure any case of cabin fever and delight even the most well-traveled visitors.

There are a few notable museums in the city, and the most interesting is likely the Pirates of Nassau Museum. The world-class collection includes interactive displays complete with recreations of pirate life, cutaways of ships and walk-throughs that make visitors feel like authentic swashbucklers. There is also a great gift store to plunder and a friendly Pirate Bar serving up tall glasses of cool beer.

A modest collection of documents and artifacts is on display at the Bahamas historical Society Museum. The collection tells the story of the islands from the Lucayan era through today, and the admission price is worth it just to see the incredible model of the Santa Luceno, a Spanish galleon.

pier landscape in Nassau, Bahamas

Nassau is a bustling city filled with vibrant energy, but there are many places to go to catch a break from the chaos. Above the rock perch on Bernard Road is St. Augustine's Monastery, one of the most imposing yet peaceful places on the islands. Call ahead to schedule a tour of the working monastery.

The Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Park also offer a lovely escape from the sometimes overwhelming action of the city. More than 50 species of animals, reptiles and birds call the zoo home, and indigenous species of flora thrive in the gardens. Visitors can see many animals up close, including West Indian flamingos, monkeys, iguanas, the endangered Bahama parrot, snakes, hutias and caimans.

Atlantis Nassau

Kids and adults will both enjoy the Atlantis Waterscape, the world's largest open-air aquarium. More than 200 species of marine life can be experienced up close, including 14,000 fish. The underwater Plexiglass walkway lets visitors see the creatures like never before, and the park also includes an interpretation of the ruins of Atlantis, a lagoon full of sharks and a lazy river for tubing.

Government House in Nassau

One of the most beautiful buildings in Nassau is the Government House, a cheery pink Georgian structure that tops Mount Fitzwilliam and houses the country's governor-general. Walking the grounds is permitted, but visitors must schedule interior tours in advance and a military guard is a required chaperone. Twice each month, visitors are welcome to watch the changing of the guard and to sit for tea with the wife of the governor-general.

Blackbeard's Tower is another popular tourist attraction in the city. The cut-stone tower sits just south of Fort Montagu and offers an outstanding view of Nassau.

white sandy beach with cristal waters in Nassau

Other sights worth exploring in Nassau include the bustling Rawson Square, the lovely gardens at the Bahamas National Trust, the white-sand Cable Beach, the 18th-century Balcony House and the Eastern Cemetery, where pirates and other rascals are buried in above-ground tombs.

Nassau, capital city of Bahamas

Bahamas presentation video

Nassau Location

Nassau is the largest city, capital and commercial center of The Bahamas. According to 2010 census, Nassau was home to nearly 250,000 residents, which is 70% of The Bahamas total population.

The city of Nassau was first formally known as Charles Town before it was burned to the ground in 1684 by the Spanish and was rebuilt 9 years later to be named Nassau.

Nassau Language

English is the official language used in Nassau, Bahamas.

Nassau Predominant Religion

The predominant religion in Bahamas is Christianity, with other religions being accepted.

Nassau Currency

The Bahamian dollar is the official currency of Nassau, Bahamas and is based off the U.S. dollar as well as being equivalent to.

Nassau Climate

The climate in Nassau is known as tropical monsoon with pretty consistent temperatures throughout the entire year, regardless of the season. Exceeding temperatures of 92 degrees Fahrenheit (33 degrees Celcius) during the summer, Nassau hardly ever goes below 50 degrees Fahrenheit (10 C) during the winter with an average daily temperature of between 68 and 80 degrees F (20 and 27 C).

Nassau main attractions

  • Rawson Square
  • The Queen's Staircase
  • The Water Tower
  • Gregory Arch and The Caves

Other attractions in Nassau

  • Beaches
  • The Lost Blue Hole – hole site

Closest major airport to Nassau, Bahamas

The closest airport is within the city and is Lynden Pindling International Airport.
The airport codes are (NAS/MYNN).
The airport is located just 9.9 miles from the Nassau city center and features daily flights to the United States, United Kingdom, the Caribbean and Canada.

Nassau calm life

New Providence & Paradise

New Providence Island and Paradise Island form a glitzy duo that features the best of the Bahamas. Joined by a bridge, these two islands offer an amazing selection of beaches, casinos, nightclubs, ...

Read more about New Providence & Paradise

Grand Bahama Island

Grand Bahama Island is the ultimate destination for glistening sand and emerald waves. Most of the island’s tourist attractions and resorts can be found in the bustling cities of Freeport and Lucay...

Read more about Grand Bahama Island

Abacos

Anybody seeking a relaxing vacation away from shopping malls, casinos and crowded tourist attractions should visit the Abacos. Aside from being the perfect destination for beach bums, this is a dre...

Read more about Abacos

Andros

It’s hard to resist the cays and islets that make Andros feel like a slice of heaven that has fallen to Earth. Of course, its jagged shore looks like a place that is better suited for pirates than ...

Read more about Andros

Bimini

Beautiful Bimini is made up of a chain of islands that stands approximately 50 miles away from the United States. As a result, this destination is particularly popular among American vacationers. T...

Read more about Bimini

Berry Islands

The Berry Islands are perfect for travelers looking for a spot in the Bahamas that is relatively undeveloped. Most of the chain’s 30 islands are gloriously uninhabited. This destination has earned ...

Read more about Berry Islands

Eleuthera and Harbour Island

Luxury is the name of the game in Eleuthera. A mix of turquoise waves and pink sand on Harbor Island creates a colorful canvas where beach bums can enjoy lazy days in the sun. This portion of the B...

Read more about Eleuthera and Harbour Island

Exumas

If you enjoy walking along beaches where no human footprints can be found, the secluded cays of the Exumas are for you. This tropical destination features more than 300 breathtakingly secluded cays...

Read more about Exumas

Cat Island

Cat Island is in its own category when it comes to beauty. This island is home to the highest point in the Bahamas. All who climb to the top of Mount Alvernia are greeted by a delightful Franciscan...

Read more about Cat Island

Long Island

There’s a long list of reasons why Long Island is one of the best destinations in the Bahamas. Stunning cliffs lined with colorful flowers and fishing villages give this destination a tranquil and ...

Read more about Long Island

Crooked & Acklins Islands

The sun forms a straight line in the direction of the Crooked and Acklins Islands. These lush islands form a circle around a beautiful lagoon called the Bight of Acklins. The pair of islands is cel...

Read more about Crooked & Acklins Islands

Inagua

Inagua remains an enigma to all who are blessed enough to dip their feet into its warm shores or encounter its colorful birds. There is no place else on the planet where white sand and blue waves a...

Read more about Inagua

Mayaguana

With a population of less than 300 people, secluded Mayaguana is the perfect island for anybody looking to escape from the world for a little while. The settlements of Abraham's Bay, Betsy Bay and ...

Read more about Mayaguana

San Salvador

Life is all about sun and fun on San Salvador Island. It is believed that this island is the first piece of land spotted by Christopher Columbus during his first expedition to the Americas. An unde...

Read more about San Salvador

menu